Note To Self: Destruction

How long can a person stagnate
In a single repeating loop
Before they lose themselves
Before they dissolve completely
Into the way
They have paved

How long can silence hide you
Before your voice is lost
In the white noise
You’ve buried your head in
Alarming attempt to drown in
Your own denials

Alarming attempt to separate
Eviscerate
Complicate and decimate
Every state
That wakes you

How long have I been sleeping here
I look so old
How many years
Of my own existence
Have I missed?

How many days repeated here
I must have known
That I, alone
Had the choice
To move along
To just move on

I must have known
I’d be pulled into the gears

I must have known
That all these years
The machine we built
Was fed by blood
And oiled by tears
Why would I think
I’m safe in here

I must have known

When I plugged myself into the chair
Held in place with wires and care
My house of cards
Waiting for air
To destroy me

How long can a person hide their face
Before they forget they became
The replacement

Shame and a waste
You could have been you
But you were replaced
With a fake
That nobody likes
Anyway

Good job, ace

Like a boss
As we say

Leave a comment