Digital Light is No Angel

She said she was a light for others

So bright
It made it hard to truly see her

So bright that it smothered
Reason and meaning
What you thought you were seeing
Obscuring the truth
Of what you believe in

She was a light
That was too bright
To be leading
Too bright
To believe in

Because you couldn’t see in

She laughed and she danced
And smiled in the sun
Bold and upfront
She was many and one

A prancing diamond
Shining
So bright that she’s blinding
Everyone

She thought she knew better
Than birds of a feather
She wanted to lead
To be better
And feathered

She wanted to teach
But couldn’t write letters
She wanted to be
But instead became tethered
To all of the tales
That she long ago weathered

She thought she was a special one
But she was dumb
Like everyone

Confused by her own
Excitement and growth
Thinking she knew the way to go
For everyone

For me, a man she didn’t know

She knew better than me
Talking down at me
Condescendingly
My therapy
I didn’t ask for

But hey
I’m dumb
Like everyone

I’m not the one
To point a gun
Judge anyone
Hurt anyone
No matter what

There is no
Scenario
Where it’s alright
To harm someone

How the fuck do we live with that?
How many times can you break bad
Before you’re a Chad

Taking all the cash
And getting fat
And hoarding wealth

Not caring about anyone
Except yourself

Leave a comment