The Passive Wolf And The Pile Of Bones

Music is my master
Says Alice
The malice evident in the way she holds her head
In her hands

My heartbeat is faster when I’m moving with the grains of sand

Try to understand
She says
From my side from where I stand
Looking at the man I am
Pursue me, she would whisper, as she ran
Away

I follow through the forest of the world
I am not alone
I am a pack of wolves
And we run to find the one alone
Howl and shine in the sun for the show

I am not alone
And I don’t know these wolves

Music is my master
Says Alice
Laughter is the softest reaction to madness
As she stands before her audience
Laments at all this failed romance
Try to understand
She says
(I’ll never lie –
I never tried)
And Alice runs away
Again

And we all die alone.

…It doesn’t have to be this way
Alice whispers through the blinding light of day
…please… try…
Pursue me, follow me this way
Hand in hand we’ll stand today
Sing a song
I’ll dance
We’ll play
There will never be an end
To the songs that we can make

Please try
She whispers
As she says goodbye…

Leave a comment